Waiting on Wednesday: Tell Me Three Things

‘Waiting on Wednesday’ was started by ‘Breaking the Spine’ and spotlights those not-yet-released books that I just can’t wait to read! Without further ado, here is this week’s ‘Waiting on Wednesday’.

Title: Tell Me Three Things

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publication Date: April 15th 2016

The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?
Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.
Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?
The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.
In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

My last two picks for Waiting on Wednesday were of the YA fantasy genre, so this time I was determined to pick a contemporary. What do you think? Is it something you’d like to read? Let me know in the comments below!

Also, you can read an excerpt from Tell Me Three Things here.

Have a lovely Wednesday!

 

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Tell Me Three Things

  1. Nice pick! This one sounds pretty interesting like it has the potential of being really heart-warming but also really heartbreaking depending on where the plot goes. I’ll add it to my TBR.
    Check out my WoW when you get the chance 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s